The New York State Art Teachers Association Names James A. Dever Elementary School Educator Janis Boremski Educator of the Year

July 31, 2023

The New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) recently announced Janis Boremski as the recipient of the New York State Educator of the Year Award. Mrs. Boremski is an art educator at James A. Dever Elementary School and the Fine Arts Coordinator of Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen.

NYSATA recognizes members and educators of the art education community committed to excellence in art education with various awards presented at the annual New York State Conference. Nominees must be association members in good standing that have dedicated a substantial amount of time to enhancing art education. 

“We are incredibly proud of our District’s educators,” said Dr. Judith LaRocca, Superintendent of Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen. “We have a robust art curriculum in our schools and it is no surprise that Ms. Boremski has been recognized to receive this prestigious award.”

At the age of two, Mrs. Boremski could be found asking her family for materials she could use to draw. She has continued to re-create that magic in her 20 years of teaching art at the elementary level in Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen. Currently, she, along with the Board of NYSATA, is organizing the first in-person exhibit post-pandemic. “The current focus is to rebuild what was lost during the pandemic, while we elevate the visual arts in Nassau County schools,” Mrs. Boremski explains. “I am honored to receive this award and I believe that art should be fun and exciting for our young learners.”

Using art to foster a sense of community within a school is a focus of Mrs. Boremski’s teaching. Her elementary school students often collaborate in artworks such as rock gardens, murals, and hallway displays. Mrs. Boremski holds a BFA in Art Education, an MA in Clinical Art Therapy, and an Advanced Certificate in Educational Leadership and Technology. Mrs. Boremski currently serves as the District Coordinator for Fine Arts in Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen, is on the Executive Board for the Art Supervisors Association in Nassau County, and is Co-Chair for the New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) Region 9 Nassau County. She has been the recipient of the Valley Stream Interschool Grant and twice received the Valley Stream Board of Education Commendation Award and PTA Founder’s Award for her work with students. 

Candidates for the New York State Art Educator of the Year Award must have demonstrated commendable teaching strategies and advocacy while making an impact on individuals in the immediate and larger community within the association. The recipient should embody what it means to support and improve the field of art education.  Recipients of this award are recognized by the National Art Education Association each spring at the NAEA annual National Convention.