Valley Stream U.F.S.D Thirteen Honors Retirees and Recently Tenured Teachers

June 23, 2017

The Valley Stream Union Free School District Thirteen recently honored the District’s upcoming retirees and granted three classroom teachers tenure during a Board of Education Meeting. All District members recognized were celebrated for their unyielding efforts to provide all students a joyful and engaging place to come learn every day.

“We are extremely thankful for the years of commitment and dedication that our retirees have provided to our District and students,” said Constance D. Evelyn, Superintendent of Valley Stream U.F.S.D. Thirteen. “As we thank all of our remarkable retirees, we look towards the future with honoring the soon-to-be tenured teachers that continue to make a positive impact on the learning environment and our community.”

This year’s retirees include custodians Saverio (Bo) Auricchio and James Babst, classroom aide Barbara Cash, reading teacher Patricia Hopkins, classroom aides Mindy Isacoff and Colleen O’Brien, Terry Sales, classroom aide Toniann Dimartino, physical education teacher Cindi Gomez, noon-hour aide Mildred Hendrickson, secretary Claudette Costa, and Superintendent’s secretary Denise Michaels.

The following teachers were granted tenure, effective September 1, 2017: classroom teacher Pamela Gollin at Wheeler Avenue Elementary School, classroom teacher Megan Lupo at James A. Dever Elementary school, and classroom teacher Aleksandra Rance at Howell Road Elementary school.