Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen Welcomes New Teachers

September 1, 2022

(AUGUST 2022)—Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen recently hosted New Teacher Orientation for the 2022-2023 school year. The orientation was held over the course of three days at Howell Road Elementary School. “The New Teacher Orientation was a great opportunity for our new hires to become acquainted with each other and district goals and expectations,” said Fabayo McIntosh, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction. “I am thrilled with our new group of teachers, and I am confident that they will be a great addition to our school district and community.”

On the first day of the orientation, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Judith LaRocca welcomed everyone. The day was dedicated to a special education services overview by Dr. Lisa Dunn, Executive Director of Special Services; a technology overview by Andrea DiMango, Director of Instructional Technology and Innovation; and a review of contractual benefits by Gerard Antoine, Assistant Superintendent for Business. On the second day, the new teachers had the opportunity to go over total participation techniques and the Danielson Framework with the Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen staff. Ms. McIntosh spoke to the new hires about building a culture of belonging and goal setting. During the last day of orientation, the new teachers were able to meet with their respective building principals.

New Hires:
Lauren Anglim – Willow Road Elementary School 4th-grade teacher
Nicole Arcario – James A. Dever Elementary School kindergarten special education
Hanna Choi – Willow Road Elementary School 2nd-grade teacher
Melissa Conicelli – Wheeler Avenue Elementary School 6th-grade special education
Danielle DeGrazia – Howell Road Elementary School pre-k teacher
Kaitlyn Espina – Willow Road Elementary School speech teacher
Sabrina Galeotafiore – Wheeler Avenue Elementary School social worker
Kalei Mills – Willow Road Elementary School speech teacher
Brittany Nagel – Howell Road Elementary School kindergarten teacher
Caitlin Nelson – Willow Road Elementary School kindergarten special education
Caroline Nickels – James A. Dever Elementary School 3rd-grade teacher
Marissa Nicoletti – James A. Dever Elementary School 6th-grade special education
Yamile Polanco Ospina – Howell Road Elementary School 3rd-grade special education
Joelly Quezada – Wheeler Avenue Elementary School 2nd-grade special education